weekly food log

15 Apr

Since I have been focusing more on my research project and learning about the nitty gritties of nutritionism I have noticed that my diet has changed. I would not identify myself as having a nutritionist outlook because I think of healthy in terms of a food’s overall value not just its specific nutrient make up. But now that I have a better understanding of the history, effects and alternatives to nutritionism I see myself developing a more holistic view and using this to guide my food choices. For instants I try to eat a lot more vegetables and natural foods. I notice myself avoiding processed foods and foods with a lot of additives where before I was more focused on reading nutrition labels. I have also been trying to find alternate sources of protein other than meat and making meat a side to my meals rather than the main focus.

One thing I find myself struggling with is finding decent fruit at school. I know I have complained about this multiple times in past blogs but I am bringing it up again. Being home I was spoiled with the luxury of being able to eat real fresh fruit. Oh how I’ve missed being able to eat strawberries, blueberries, watermelon, pineapple, grapes and of course good apples. Now I know I could always go out to the store myself and buy these fruits but that is just not convenient for me or cost effective so I’m going to complain about it on here instead.  

Leave a Reply

